You are Here : Council  >  Voting and Elections  >  Upcoming Elections
Saturday , September , 21 2019
| Language and Accessibility

 Contact Details

  01228 817555

Upcoming Elections

Any upcoming General Election Information will be posted here when available.

The elections for the European Parliament were held on Thursday 23 May 2019. The European election in the North West was coordinated by the Regional Returning Officer, Joanne Rooney OBE, Manchester City Council. The elections within the Carlisle City Council area were administered by Dr Jason Gooding, the Local Returning Officer Carlisle City Council. Please find below a link to the North West Regional Returning Officer website where the results for the EU election are published.

Following a boundary review, all current Carlisle City Council wards changed at the 2019 election. The Boundary Commission’s final recommendations were that Carlisle should be represented by 39 city councillors in the future: thirteen fewer than the current arrangement. The recommendations also propose that those councillors should represent 13 three-councillor wards.

Elections were held in the following 13 wards on Thursday 2 May 2019:

Belah & Kingmoor; Botcherby & Harraby North; Brampton & Fellside; Cathedral & Castle; Currock & Upperby; Dalston & Burgh; Denton Holme & Morton South; Harraby South & Parklands; Longtown & the Border; Newtown & Morton North; Sandsfield & Morton West; Stanwix & Houghton; and Wetheral & Corby.

The full results are available

No County Council Elections are scheduled for this year. For information on the 2017 Cumbria County Council Elections, visit

A Dalston Parish Council election was held on Thursday 3 May 2018.

A referendum on a new Parish Neighbourhood Plan for Dalston was held on Thursday 22 February 2018.

The results for the Dalston Parish Council Neighbourhood Plan Referendum are available HERE

Parish Council elections were held in Nether Denton and Walton on Thursday 2 May 2019. The results are available at

A referendum on the UK’s membership of the European Union was held on Thursday 23 June 2016.

The full EU results are available at

The PCC’s role is to act as the public’s voice on how policing is carried out in Cumbria. They will also be responsible for setting the force’s budget and deciding what its priorities and strategy should be.

More information is available at:

The results from the 2016 election are available here.

This A to Z of services list provides links to service pages alphabetically