| Language and Accessibility

Latest News

[Return to Previous ]

New electoral arrangements for Carlisle City Council

Published on 27 November 2018

New electoral arrangements for Carlisle City Council

The independent Local Government Boundary Commission for England has published its final recommendations for new electoral arrangements for Carlisle City Council.

Today’s (Tuesday, 27 November) publication follows public consultation on its draft proposals earlier this year and draws new boundaries for each council ward across Carlisle.

All current council wards will change as a result of the review.

The Commission’s final recommendations propose that Carlisle should be represented by 39 city councillors in the future: thirteen fewer than the current arrangement. The recommendations also propose that those councillors should represent thirteen three-councillor wards.

In response to local feedback during consultation, the Commission has made changes to the proposals it published in August. For example, in the south west of the city, the Commission has changed its recommendations so that Crummock Street, Bassenthwaite Street, Wigton Road, Westwater Close, Derwent Street and Abbots Road will all be part of Newtown & Morton North ward rather than Denton Holme & Morton South. The changes mean that communities in the Morton area will not be divided between council wards.

To the south east of the city, the Commission has listened to local feedback that suggested the new development of Speckled Wood should be part of the urban Harraby South & Parklands ward rather than the rural Dalston & Burgh ward. The Commission has agreed to include this change in its final recommendations.

The Commission has also responded positively to local representations that argued for changes to the names of seven of the proposed wards. They are:

Draft Recommendations

Final Recommendations

Botcherby & Durranhill

Botcherby & Harraby North


Cathedral & Castle

Harraby South & Garlands

Harraby South & Parklands

Longtown, Lyne & Irthington

Longtown & the Border

Newtown & Morton Central

Newtown & Morton North


Sandsfield & Morton West

Wetheral & Corby Hill

Wetheral & Corby

Full details of the final recommendations and further minor changes to the draft proposals are available on the Commission’s website at

The proposed new arrangements must now be implemented by Parliament. A draft Order - the legal document which brings into force the recommendations - will be laid in Parliament in the coming months. The draft Order provides for the new electoral arrangements to come into force at the Carlisle City Council elections in 2019.

Comments (0)Number of views (6225)

Categories: News, Residents, Council, Business, Breaking news



Theme picker

«August 2020»

Search Archive

This A to Z of services list provides links to service pages alphabetically